Foreign nationals eligible for visa exempt entry

For the visa exemption program with a duration of stay of up to 90 days

Andorra, Australia*1, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Houduras*, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan*, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia*, Malta, Marshall Islands*, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Palau, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Solvenia, Spain, Seden, Switzerland, Tuvalu*, the United Kindon, The United States of Ameriam and Vatican City State 

*Effective from January 1, 2015 to December 31, 2019 

For the visa exemption program with a duration of stay of up to 30 days

Belize*, Dominican Republic, Malaysia, Nauru*, Saint Christopher and Nevis*, Saint Lucia*, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Singapore


For the visa exemption program with a duration of stay of up to 14 days

National of the kingdom of Thailand*2, Nationals of Brunei*2, Nationals of Philippines*3, Nationals of Russia*4, except those holding diplomatic or official/service passports, are eligible for the visa exemption program, with a duration of stay of up to 14 days. 

*Effective from August 1, 2016 to July 31, 2019 ; *3 Effective from November 1, 2017 to July 31, 2019 ; *4 Effective from September 6, 2018 to July 31, 2019



  1.  A passport with remaining validity of at least six months as of the date of entry
  2.  Visa-exempt entry only applies to foreign visitors holding formal passports (i.e., ordinary, official/service and diplomatic passports). Those holding emergency, temporary, or other informal passorts or travel documents are ineligible, with the exception of those holding a Brunei Certificate of Identity.
  3. Holders of Belizean, Nauru, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucian and Tuvalu Passports with place of birth recorded on the passport data page as, Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Bigeria, Pakistan, the People's Repulic of China, Syria and Yemen are ineligible for the visa exemption. 
  4. Holders of Honduran passport with "place of birth" recorded on the passport data page as the People's Republic of China are ineligible for the visa exemption.
  5. A national of the Republic of the Marshall Islands shall mean any person who holds the nationality of the Republic of the Marshall Islands and is confined to the following categories: (1) a person who acquires the citizenship of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands at birth before the effective date of the Constitution of the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and has become and remains a citizen of the Republic of the Marshall Islands; or (2) a person who aquires the citizenship of the Republic of the Marshall Islands at birth, on or after the effective date of the Constitution of the Reupublic of the Marshall Islands.
  6. USA and Japan nationals who possess a, including emergency passports, valid for the intended period of stay are eligible for visa-exempt entry.
  7. Holder of emergency or temporary passport (except those from USA) should apply for a visa at an Taiwan overseas mission, or a landing visa after arriving Taiwan.
  8. A confirmed return air/sea ticket or air/sea ticket and a visa for the next destination, and a confirmed seat reservation for departure flight.
  9. Not determined by immigration officers at ports of entry in Taiwan to be otherwise ineligible.
  10. Holders of Brunei, Philippines, Russia and Thailand passports must have a proof of accommodation booking, host/sponsor's contact information and sufficient travel funds.

Duration of stay

  1.  The duration of stay starts from theday after arrival and is not extendable.
     Foreign visitors must depart by the end of the said duration. There will be penalities for overstay.  
  2. Visa-exempt entry cannot be converted to visa-based stay, unless any of the following applies:
    a. Foreign nationals entering Taiwan on a visa exemption may only apply for conversion to a visitor visa within the permitted duration of stay at the Bureau of Consular Affairs or MOFA branch offices in the event of situations that prevent them form leaving Taiwan, such as severe acute illness, natural disaster, or other force majeure reason. In additon, white-collar professionals who have obtained a work permit within their permiited duration of stay (Brunei, Philippines, Russia and Thiland are not included) may apply for a work visa together with their spouse and minors, under age of 20, who entered Taiwan aat the same time.
    b. For Canadian and UK passport holders, please refer to the Notice for Canadian & British Passport Holders Who Enter Taiwan Visa-Free and Apply for an Extesion of Stay.